The day has come: Meow The Jewels has arrived

Ladies and gentlemen, the day has finally arrived. Meow The Jewels is here, in all its glory – and it’s free.

The completely upheaved version of Run The Jewels‘ phenomenal 2014 album Run The Jewels 2remixed ‘entirely’ out of cat noises, has been in the works since a fan-funded Kickstarter showed up following the album’s release. Run The Jewels took notice, jumped on board, and announced that all profits from the limited vinyl run would be donated to charities that benefit victims of police brutality. One half of RTJ, El-P tweeted about the release, “did we make the silliest, occasionally most grating possible remix album? of course. and we did it for you, mike brown and Eric garner.”

That’s not all though. Not only have the songs been reworked to incorporate cat noises, they have also been individually remixed by the likes of Just BlazeThe AlchemistZola JesusPortishead‘s Geoff BarrowBlood Diamonds and many more. Although hilarious, it actually sounds really quite good. From the plunging bassline in Snug Again (previously Love Again), to the opening track in Meowpurrdy (previously Jeopardy), the power of El-P’s masterful production is in full effect here.

Meow The Jewels is available now for free download here. For a limited time, you can also purchase the amazing 2XLP with faux fur hands on the cover here. In the meantime, check the tracklisting and the previously released Meowrly below.

Meow The Jewels:

01 Meowpurrdy [ft. Lil Bub, Maceo, Delonte and Snoop Dogg] (remixed by El-P)
02 Oh My Darling Don’t Meow (remixed by Just Blaze)
03 Pawfluffer Night (remixed by Zola Jesus)
04 Close Your Eyes and Meow to Fluff [ft. Zack de la Rocha] (remixed by Portishead’s Geoff Barrow)
05 All Meow Life (remixed by Nick Hook)
06 Lie, Cheat, Meow (remixed by Prince Paul)
07 Meowrly (remixed by Boots)
08 Paw Due Respect (remixed by Blood Diamonds)
09 Snug Again [ft. Gangsta Boo] (remixed by Little Shalimar)
10 Creown (remixed by the Alchemist)
11 Angelsnuggler (remixed by Dan the Automator)
12 Creown (bonus) (remixed by Massive Attack’s 3D)