Rick Rubin Recruits Flying Lotus, Baauer, Röyksopp And More For ‘Star Wars’ Compilation

Legendary producer Rick Rubin is a man who’s resume speaks for itself, having worked with everyone from Johnny Cash to Kanye West over his long, esteemed career. His is a touch that takes a record from good to great, and his reputation precedes him when it comes to making music. So, the news that he has now made Star Wars tribute album built on samples from the actual movies – well, it’s very exciting indeed!

Recruiting the likes of Flying LotusBonoboShlohmoBaauerRöyksoppRustie and many more, the prolific producer announced the news of his compilation, Star Wars Headspace, via Zane Lowe‘s Beats 1 radio show, however it was Flying Lotus who spoke with Lowe about the release.

“He kind of handpicked all the people he wanted to be part of this thing,” FlyLo said, before saying he was “flattered” just to be involved. Speaking on how it was really a free for all as to what each artist made, FlyLo did mention that there was just one rule when it came to the record; to not touch any John Williams music.

“Don’t mess with that John Williams though!” he said.

Three cuts were shared on Lowe’s show, including Flying Lotus’ own R2 Where R U? Baauer’s Cantina Boys and Rick Rubin’s NR-G7 were also released, which you can listen to now via Pitchfork. Check out the full tracklist below as well.

Star Wars Headspace:

01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight”
02 GTA: “Help Me!”
03 TroyBoi: “Force”
04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7″
08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

May the force be with you, Rick Rubin.

See More

Read our feature on the music of Star Wars

Image via Rolling Stone