Baauer Announces Debut Album, Performs On ‘Late Night’

Delivering an incendiary rendition of Day Ones (ft. Novelist and Leikeli47)  on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, producer Baauer has announced that his debut album will be dropping on March 18th.

Perhaps best known for his viral single Harlem Shake in 2013, the 26-year-old producer has continued to prove his chops with a string of singles including 2014’s One Touch and 2015’s GoGo!

Titled Aa (pronounced ‘double a’) the album draws inspiration from rap and dance music from the producer’s native Brooklyn, as well as influences from his travels abroad. For his debut, Baauer will be joined by a string of big-name collaborators including Future, Pusha T, M.I.A, Rustie and Tirzah. The album will also continue the producer’s visual collaboration with LA-based artist, Jonathan Zawada.

I started making music when I was 15. From the beginning I was influenced by real sounds of the world. I spent my childhood bouncing around the globe – I lived between London, Philly, and Connecticut – my beats started off as a mix of the cultures I was surrounded by” reveals Baauer.

Reflecting on the lessons learnt from a hectic touring schedule and over two years on the road, the producer offered insight into the creative impetus for his debut album: “What makes a sound special to me is its imperfections, its peculiarities. I spent the last couple years trying to get all of those imperfections into one record, and I think finally it makes sense.”

Aa is out this March 18 on through LuckyMe via Warp/Inertia.

Pre order here.


  1. Church
  2. GoGo!
  3. Body
  4. Pinku
  5. Sow
  6. Day Ones (featuring Novelist, Leikeli47)
  7. Good & Bad
  8. Way from Me (featuring Tirzah)
  9. Temple (featuring M.I.A, G-Dragon)
  10. Make It Bang (featuring TT The Artist)
  11. Kung Fu (featuring Pusha T, Future)
  12. Church Reprise (featuring Rustie)
  13. Aa