Screen Shot 2016-11-11 at 6.34.54 AM

Childish Gambino Drops New Single “Me And Your Mama”

It’s official: Childish Gambino will be released his new album on December 2, 2016. It’s called Awaken, My Love!, and the first single – along with a whole lot of cool details – is here.

The track is titled Me And Your Mama. It debuted on Apple Music’s Beats 1 Radio, as announced by a very, very excited Zane Lowe:

Hours earlier, Glover tweeted out the album title and artwork, confirming Awaken My Love! as the name.

According to this cheeky little easter egg revealed by lyrics website Genius, the artwork was secretly revealed on a recent episode of Atlanta:

He has also tweeted out a link to listen to the single, which is now available on Youtube, Spotify, etc.

It feels more like an Alabama Shakes song than anything we could have expected from Childish Gambino. Looks like we’ve got yet another contender for album of the year on our hands.

The track comes just days after release information was seemingly leaked via showing up on Amazon and in a music store. The album caps off an incredible year for Donald Glover, aka Childish Gambino, who has released an incredible TV series Atlanta, and has also been announced to play Star Wars favourite Lando Calrissian in a Han Solo spinoff film.

Gambino debuted his new project at a three-day event called PHAROS in Joshua Tree, California. The event, and new music, was hugely praised by those in attendance, and now that the new single is out, it’s easy to see why that is.

Awaken, My Love! comes out on December 2, 2016 via Glassnote. Childish Gambino will be visiting Australia at the end of December to perform at Falls Festival and Field Day in Sydney, making attendees the first in the world to hear the new music live, with the only exception being those who attended PHAROS. 

Read about everything that went down at PHAROS.

The full tracklist can be found below:

1. Me and Your Mama
2. Have Some Love
3. Boogieman
4. Zombies
5. Riot
6. Redbone
7. California
8. Terrified
9. Baby Boy
10. The Night Me and Your Mama Met
11. Stand Tall

Image: Glassnote