Two New David Bowie Songs Have Been Released

Previously unreleased songs No Plan and When I Met You have emerged from the final recordings of the late, great David Bowie.

Premiered on BBC Radio overnight (for us here in Australia, anyway), the two tracks are lifted from an album of songs from his Lazarus musical. The full album is set for release on October 21, and will be a double CD offering, featuring several unreleased original songs written for the musical, along with reworkings of classics from across Bowie’s illustrious and lengthy career performed by the cast.

The musical, which shares the same name as one of the most arresting tracks from Bowie’s final album, is an adaptation of the Walter Tevis novel The Man Who Fell To Earth. The very same novel that inspired a 1976 adaptation in which Bowie himself starred as the alien Thomas Newton. The musical stars Michael C Hall (of Dexter and Six Feet Under fame) and will have an October 2016-January 2017 for anyone who may happen to be heading over to London shortly.

While the album isn’t out for a few more days, you can still listen to the two songs aired on BBC Radio online. No Plan comes in at around the 46 minute mark of Jeremy Vine’s BBC Radio 2 show while When I Met You shows up around 51 minutes into BBC 6 Music programNo Plan in particular, shares a similar eerie and poignant quality with its predecessor Lazarus. These are the second posthumous offerings from the singer to have been made public. They join the The Gouster album, which had originally been intended for release in 1975 before some of the songs ended up on Young Americans instead.

Both songs as well as a third titled Killing a Little Time which is yet to make its way onto the airwaves were recorded in-studio by Bowie and the musicians who joined him for his final album, ★ (Blackstar).

Image: AV Club