DJ Shadow Announces new Album, Listen To Title Track “The Mountain Will Fall”

DJ Shadow fans have been waiting a long time for the good news, and finally, it is here: a brand new full length album is on its way from the legendary electro-trip-hop producer. Titled The Mountain Will Fall, it will be released on June 24, and is his first full album since The Less You Know, The Better in 2011. In 2014, he also dropped The Liquid Amber EP.

Last year, Shadow dropped the stormy new track Swervealong with hints of a new album on the way, but no concrete details. Now we’ve got the full rundown – yippee!

What’s even more exciting is the list of guest collaborators to feature on the record; Run The Jewels, Nils FrahmErnie Fresh and more are noted throughout the track listing (below). In an interview with Pitchfork, Josh Davis (aka DJ Shadow) said that he was careful to limit the number of guest appearances on the album – which, in my opinion, is absolutely right.

Davis apparently told his manager, “I don’t really want it to be one of these records where it’s this hot rapper, this hot rapper, this feature… I didn’t want to have to convince anybody that it was worth their time to be on my records. I just didn’t want to make that kind of record.”

The official announcement came along with a Twitter post detailing release information:

The Mountain Will Fall:

01 The Mountain Will Fall
02 Nobody Speak (ft. Run the Jewels)
03 Three Ralphs
04 Bergschrund (ft. Nils Frahm)
05 The Sideshow (ft. Ernie Fresh)
06 Depth Charge
07 Mambo
08 Ashes to Oceans (ft. Matthew Halsall)
09 Pitter Patter (ft. G Jones & Bleep Bloop)
10 California
11 Ghost Town
12 Suicide Pact
13 Swerve (iTunes Bonus Track)

Click here to see our photos and review of DJ Shadow live in Sydney with Cut Chemist last year


Image: Astral People