Xiu Xiu Announce Twin Peaks Cover Album, Listen To First Track “Falling”

Record Store Day is right around the corner (April 16), and the list of exclusives and special releases just keeps on growing. It’s been about two years since we’ve had a new release from experimental/noise trio Xiu Xiu, but the band have now announced a new album: Plays The Music Of Twin Peaks.

That’s right: Xiu Xiu are released a covers album exclusively featuring music from the cult David Lynch show. With the original music composed by Angelo Badalamenti, the beloved series has almost become as well known for its soundtrack as it has the show itself.

The release was initially commissioned by the Gallery of Modern Art in Australia for a David Lynch exhibition which took place in April last year. The band has gone on to share their covers at a number of special performances around the world. Now, the studio album version will be made available as an RSD exclusive. Only 2000 copies will be available, on a 180 gram double LP in red and blue vinyl.

The album was produced by former band member Jherek Bischoff, who has also worked with Amanda Palmer and Ariel Pink, and was mixed by Greg Saunier of Deerhoof.

The album will be released as a Record Store Day exclusive via Polyvinyl and Bella Union.

Below, listen to the album’s first release, Falling.

Plays the Music of Twin Peaks Track List:

01 Laura Palmer’s Theme
02 Into the Night
03 Audrey’s Dance
04 Packard’s Vibration
05 Nightsea Wind
06 Blue Frank Pink Room
07 Sycamore Tree
08 Harold’s Theme
09 Dance of the Dream Man
10 Falling
11 Love Theme Farewell
12 Josie’s Past

Click here for the full list of Record Store Day exclusives

Image: Joan Chen