Dev Hynes and Connan Mockasin have dropped a collaborative EP

Devonté “Dev” Hynes (Blood Orange, Lightspeed Champion) is on some kind of roll at the moment. Just last week, he unleashed the politically-charged Sandra’s Smile upon us and now he’s dropped a three-track EP, for which he’s teamed up with psychedelic-pop New Zealander Connan Mockasin.

The project came about in March as part of the Marfa Myths festival, held by Mexian Summer and Ballroom Marfa in Texas. A cultural program, Marfa Myths features artists from within and outside of the Mexican Summer and Software Recording Co. rosters who work creatively and collaboratively on music, film and visual arts. The overall aim of the festival is to expand beyond the studio and onto the live stage “offering more artists – and more fans – the chance to join our family.”

Hynes and Mockasin worked together for the first time during this year’s festival program. Their sessions resulted in three original tracks, which have since found their way onto the new EP, Myths 001. Full of wonderfully slinky guitars and echoing, breathy vocals, three tracks feels altogether far too short. An exclusive 1,500 copies of the EP have been released on on 12-inch vinyl, but you can listen to one of the tracks Feelin’ Lovely below, or stream all three on Spotify.