Modest Mouse drop another new track!

Oh Modest Mouse. How I love you.

I’ve got a little beef with Modest Mouse because I really adore them, and both times I was meant to see them, they cancelled the show. The last time that happened was about three years ago while I was visiting London, and they said that they’d cancelled their tour in order to focus on their new album. Sadness was everywhere in my heart.

Finally, like FINALLY, they announced details about the new album in December 2014, and released a brand new single. Strangers to Ourselves is their first album in a whopping eight years. it’s set for a March 17 release and I am looking very forward to that day.

Since then we’ve been very lucky in that they’ve shared not one, but three tracks off the album: The utterly Modest-Mouse-nostalgia-overload awesomeness that is Lampshade On Fire, the gorgeous, subdued Coyotes and an incredibly cute accompanying video clip and the theatrical, strange Best Room.

With only a month to go until release, a fourth track has dropped. The Ground Walks, With Time In A Box is frantic and bright, with punchy brass, a subtle but great organ line and a whole lot of that familiar sense of organised chaos.

Strangers to Ourselves Tracklist:
01. Strangers to Ourselves
02. Lampshades on Fire
03. Shit in Your Cut
04. Pistol (A. Cunanan, Miami, FL. 1996)
05. Ansel
06. The Ground Walks, with Time in a Box
07. Coyotes
08. Pups to Dust
09. Sugar Boats
10. Wicked Campaign
11. Be Brave
12. God is an Indian and You’re an Asshole
13. The Tortoise and the Tourist
14. The Best Room
15. Of Course We Know