Silent Jay & Jace XL Drop “Tides” For Plastic World

Sydney label Plastic World are soon to be releasing a 16-track compilation featuring some of the best Australian artists making music right now. Simply titled Volume 1, the release has collected unreleased music from artists including Sampa the Great, Dreems, Tim Shiel and more.
The release’s first single was MS-DOS by The Possé, and today we’re blessed with Tides, by Silent Jay and Jace XL, a phenomenal collaborative duo in their own right, although you may be more aware of Jace from his involvement with the legendary Hiatus Kaiyote.

Following on from their brilliant mini-album Sacrifice which dropped earlier this year, Tides is just gorgeous. Upbeat, funky synths lay the foundations beneath Jace’s beautiful, honeyed vocals. Coupled with harmonies, backing vocals and a delicate rhythm, this track is rich and textured, with Jay’s bars adding another smooth layer to the wonderful track, which makes its mark as the opening number for the full compilation.

You can check out all the details here before it comes out on August 18.

Plastic World: Volume 1 track list:

  1. Tides – Silent Jay and Jace XL
  2. Wonderland – Sampa The Great
  3. My Way 2 U – Young Spice
  4. Cosmos – Vulture St Tape Gang
  5. Love Rain Down – Mondo Freaks
  6. MS-DOS – The Possé
  7. Night Rider – Spvrs
  8. Pipe Dreams – Opal E
  9. Why Aren’t You Dance – Lizprome & Nite Fleit
  10. Ideal (2014) – Sam Weston
  11. Universal Soldier – Hugo Frederick
  12. 4G Swirl – Thomas William
  13. Laserdisc – Kane Ikin
  14. Mind Drone (Ambient Mix ft. Aphir) – Tim Shiel
  15. Kings Hwy Bwood – Dreems
  16. Efforts – BODY CORP
Image: Nathan Moraza