ATHENS, GEORGIA - APRIL 02:  Edith Frances and Ethan Kath of Crystal Castles perform at Georgia Theatre during the 2016 Slingshot Festival on April 2, 2016 in Athens, Georgia.  (Photo by Chris McKay/Getty Images)

Crystal Castles Shares New Single & Announce New Album

Crystal Castles may have lost a member, but the band is still going strong.

They have not only released another single Char, but they have also confirmed that the follow-up to 2012’s III is on its way. Their fourth album Amnesty (I) includes past singles Frail and Concrete, as well as previewed track Femen. Their new single Char is also included as one of the 12-tracks on their upcoming release.

Char shows off the new sound provided by new lead singer Edith Frances, who has replaced Alice Glass as frontwoman. The song lights up in an electronic haze as Frances sings over the top of it in her soft mellow voice. She glides seemingly effortlessly through the song while the percussion and synth mix together to create the sweet dance beat that swirls around inside your headphones, inserting a new song into your head.

Frances joined Crystal Castles after Alice Glass left the group in 2014. While both Glass and remaining member Ethan Kath shared some harsh words about each other earlier last year, they seem to be moving on with their respective projects.

Here’s the tracklist:
01. Femen
02. Fleece
03. Char
04. Enth
05. Sadist
06. Teach Her How to Hunt
07. Chloroform
08. Frail
09. Concrete
10. Ornament
11. Kept
12. Their Kindness Is Charade

Amnesty (I) will be released on August 19.

Image: Pitchfork