EP Review: Harts, ‘Breakthrough’

Boasting two recent hits Breakthrough and When a Man’s a Fool, Harts’ new EP, also titled Breakthrough, is a worthy follow-up to his debut Daydreamer. It’s a unique blend of 70s rock and Motown funk that the one-man producer, vocalist and songwriter Darren Harts has practically perfected to a tee. Having been wholly embraced by Triple J, the extensive radio play and unique interpretation on past musical stylings are no doubt pushing Harts to the ‘Breakthrough’ he deserves!

“I need another breakthrough,” wails Harts on the opening track – and this EP is exactly that, affirming his status as one of Australia’s most successful new musicians, after a 2014 that saw him play with the one and only Prince at his Paisley Park Studios. The title track is perhaps the most groovy on the EP, with steady drums underscoring a warped guitar and vocal production reminiscent of The Black Keys… on crack. The EP only builds from there, peaking at Streets – loud, unabashed, and headbang-inducing. Yet Harts displays incredible restraint on the last few tracks, diminuendoing to barely a murmur on Ain’t Too Far Gone, as his voice rings raw over laid back instrumentals with only momentary glimpses of the stadium fillers earlier in the EP. This versatility is refreshing, and Harts’ falsetto on this last track is one of the highlights on the record.

Breakthrough is out now.

Tour dates

Friday 5th June: CATS @ Rocket Bar, Adelaide SA
Tickets on Door

Saturday 6th June: Karova Lounge, Ballarat VIC
Tickets here

Sunday 7th June: The Loft, Warrnambool VIC
Tickets on Door

Friday 12th June: Amplifier, Perth WA
Tickets on Door

Saturday 13th June: Settlers Tavern, Margaret River WA
FREE Entry

Sunday 14th June: The Newport Hotel, Fremantle WA
Tickets on Door

Friday 19th June: Republic Bar, Hobart TAS
Tickets here

Saturday 20th June: Ding Dong Lounge, Melbourne VIC
Tickets here

Thursday 25th June: Moonshine, Manly NSW
FREE Entry

Friday 26th June: The Cambridge, Newcastle NSW
Tickets here

Saturday 27th June: Ding Dong Lounge, Melbourne VIC
SOLD OUT

Friday 3rd July: Oxford Art Factory, Sydney NSW
Tickets here

Saturday 4th July: Transit Bar, Canberra ACT
Tickets here

Thursday 9th July: The Gapview Hotel, Alice Springs NT
Tickets on door

Friday 10th July: The Foundry, Brisbane QLD
Tickets here

Saturday 11th July: The Great Northern, Byron Bay NSW
FREE Entry

Sunday 12th July: Broadbeach Tavern, Gold Coast QLD
FREE Entry

Friday 17th July: Cassette, Auckland NZ

Saturday 18th July: Meow, Wellington NZ