Airling Announces Debut Album, Drops New Single “Not A Fighter”

After emerging back in 2014 via Triple J Unearthed, Brisbane’s Hannah Shepherd aka Airling has now finally announced her debut album, Hard To Sleep, Easy To Dream, and released a new single, Not A Fighter. 

The new single follows on from 2016’s Move On. Yet another sultry electro-pop offering, the tune is driven by simple synth and piano driven, embellished with pulsing drum tones, all topped by Airling’s masterful, soaring vocals.

Bravely going for a deep 14-song tracklist, the album took two years to conceive, and features guest artists Emma Louise and Fractures as well as being produced by the great Tom Iansek of Big Scary, who also runs Pieater, the label putting out Airling’s album. In a press release Shepherd explained, “These songs and stories have been a big part and a product of me getting to know life, death and myself – while at the same time expressing myself to others.

“Aligning my thoughts and emotions with songs and words. Trying to live life free of fear while still acknowledging its existence and exploring its pain. Learning to love myself so I can explore my ability to love others and my potential to create. I am insanely proud of this record.”

Hard To Sleep, Easy To Dream Tracklist:

1. //Introduction
2. I am Just a Body
3. Take Care of You
4. Move Me
5. Give Me All You Got
6. Not a Fighter
7. A Day In the Park
8. Far Away
9. //Always Returning
10. Vessel
11. Bloodshot Blue
12. //There Will Be Good Days
13. Shut the Light Out
14. Roma Rose


Image: Supplied