The Jesus And Mary Chain Announce First Album in 18 Years

Thought 2016 had reached peak music? Think again. Legendary rock group The Jesus and Mary Chain have just announced their first album in a whopping 18 years, an early indicator that 2017 won’t exactly be forgettable either. Titled Damage and Joy, it is set for release on March 24, 2017, and marks their first since 1998’s Munki.

The album was produced by Killing Joke‘s Martin Glover, who also shared bass playing duties with former Lush bassist Phil King. Speaking about the new album, singer Jim Reid said, “We started to – can you believe? – listen to each other a bit more. In the last couple of years, we’ve buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other. Most people who know us would say that we haven’t mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let’s live and let live, and let’s take each other’s opinions into account.”


The announcement also comes with a brand new track – their first in a decade – Amputation. It was premiered on BBC 6 and can be heard below:

The Jesus and Mary Chain last visited Australia earlier this year for the Spectrum Now Festival. They performed their classic album Psychocandy, which was celebrating its 30th year at the time, as well as a plethora of their best hits. You can check out our review here.

The Jesus and Mary Chain, Damage and Joy tracklist:

1. “Amputation”
2. “War On Peace”
3. “All Things Pass”
4. “Always Sad”
5. “Song For A Secret”
6. “The Two Of Us”
7. “Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)”
8. “Mood Rider”
9. “Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)”
10. “Get On Home”
11. “Facing Up To The Facts”
12. “Simian Split”
13. “Black And Blues”
14. “Can’t Stop The Rock”

Image: Rolling Stone