Common Announces New Album “Black America Again”

Following his 2014 release Nobody’s Smiling, Chicago’s Common has now unveiled the details to his next project. Set for release in under a month, Black America Again features the previously released single Love Star, alongside the title track, which features the legendary Stevie Wonder. If you fancy a further sneak peak into the album, he also performed three album cuts at the White House alongside collaborators Robert Glasper and Bilal for NPR‘s Tiny Desk Concert series.

Already, we can hear a definitive shift back to his neo-soul and jazz based roots, and with the tracklist now released, this is made clear by his choice of features. Straying away from clear cut hip-hop and more towards soul and blues, he’s selected some of the most slick and sultry singers to grace the mic in recent years. The Internet’s Syd, the aforementioned Bilal and Stevie Wonder, BJ the Chicago Kid, and past collaborator John Legend just to name a few; it’s soul singing A-Team if ever there was one.

Black America Again is released Friday, November 4th, but in the meantime, check out the single, track list and album artwork below!

Black America Again Tracklist:

1. Joy and Peace feat. Bilal
2. Home feat. Bilal
3. Word From Moe Luv Interlude
4. Black American Again feat. Stevie Wonder
5. Love Star feat. Marsha Ambrosius & PJ
6. On a Whim Interlude
7. Red Wine feat. Syd & Elena
8. Pyramids
9. A Moment In the Sun Interlude
10. Unfamiliar feat. PJ
11. A Bigger Picture Called Free feat. Syd & Bilal
12. The Day Women Took Over feat. BJ the Chicago Kid
13. Rain feat. John Legend
14. Little Chicago Boy feat. Tasha Cobbs
15. Letter To the Free feat. Bilal


Image: The Source