Jack White - Acoustic

Jack White Announces Acoustic Album & Shares Unreleased White Stripes Track

Although the White Stripes formally ceased in 2011, Jack White has never strayed far from our musical consciousness. He has now announced a new album release, aptly named Acoustic Recordings, to be released September 9 of this year.

The record is set to be an eclectic release, comprising tracks from throughout White’s career with the White Stripes, the Raconteurs and as a solo artist. With track listing of 26 songs, Acoustic Recordings contains album tracks, B-sides and alternate versions. Also the previously unreleased track from the White Stripes, City Lights, which has been shared online this week.

Originally written for the White Stripes’ 2005 album Get Behind me Satan, the song is an off the wall, melodic performance with White’s trademark strangled vocals. Those who pre-order Acoustic Recordings will receive a free download of City Lights as of tomorrow, as taster well ahead of the LP release date. It is officially the first new release from the duo since 2008.

In the elapsed time we’ve seen releases from White with The Dead Weather, his solo record Lazaretto, and guest spots on Beyoncé‘s album and with The Muppets. Plus a number of other ventures, including the continuation of his own Third Man Records, which is putting out Acoustic Recordings in conjunction with Columbia.

You can check out the full track listing below for Acoustic Recordings, nearly all songs are written and produced entirely by White. The exceptions being Honey, We Can’t Afford to Look This Cheap, produced by Beck, and Never Far Away with T. Bone Burnett. Also Carolina Drama and Machine Gun Silhouette, which were both co-written. The first with Raconteurs’ Brendan Benson and the second by artist Rob Jones.

Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016

01 Sugar Never Tasted So Good

02 Apple Blossom (Remixed)

03 I’m Bound to Pack It Up (Remixed)

04 Hotel Yorba

05 We’re Going to Be Friends

06 You’ve Got Her in Your Pocket

07 It’s True That We Love One Another

08 Never Far Away

09 Forever for Her (Is Over for Me)

10 White Moon

11 As Ugly as I Seem

12 City Lights

13 Honey, We Can’t Afford to Look This Cheap

14 Effect & Cause

15 Love Is the Truth (Acoustic Mix)

16 Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)

17 Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)

18 Love Interruption

19 On and On and On

20 Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)

21 Blunderbuss

22 Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)

23 I Guess I Should Go to Sleep (Alternate Mix)

24 Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)

25 Entitlement

26 Want and Able

Image: Pitchfork