Portishead’s Geoff Barrow, Max Richter & More to Score “Black Mirror” Season 3

I’ll be honest, I have been waiting for a musical excuse to write about the newly announced season 3 of Black Mirror, Charlie Brooker’s phenomenally dark, twisted and scarily imaginable satire about humanity in the not-so-distant future.

The third season to the critically acclaimed show will premiere on Netflix this October, having previously been aired on Channel 4. It has now been announced that the series, which will amazingly feature six episodes (three more than each of the previous two seasons), will be scored by an incredible range of artists and composers. According to Brooker himself, this includes Geoff Barrow of Portishead, Max Richter, who recently visited Australia to perform his 8-hour Sleep at the Sydney Opera House, Ben Salisbury, who alongside Barrow composed the score for Ex Machina, Clint Mansell, perhaps most famously known for scoring haunting films like Black Swan and Requiem For A Dream, and Bear McCrearywhose music you have most likely heard soundtracking Battlestar Galactica and The Walking Dead.

Wow, right?

On top of this comes an incredible list of acting, writing and directing names, including Rashida Jones, Dan Trachtenberg, Joe Wright, Bryce Dallas Howard, Alice Eve and Mackenzie Davis among many more.

If you’ve never watched Black Mirror, do yourself one hell of a favour and jump on Netflix right now. Along with most of Charlie Brooker’s other work, it’s brilliant. Personally, it’s one of my all time favourite miniseries. All six episodes and the 2014 movie-length Christmas Special, starring Mad Men‘s Jon Hamm are mindblowing and brilliant.


Block out October 21, 2016  in your calendars, folks, because all six episodes of Black Mirror season 3 will be aired at the same time on Netflix.

Image: The Independent