Empire Of The Sun are Back With Album Number Three “Two Vines”

Empire Of The Sun have announced the release date of their brand new album Two Vines. Up for grabs in October, it will be the duo’s third album following Ice On The Dunes from 2013 and Walking on a Dream all the way back in the halcyon days of 2008.

The pair are still as outlandishly visual as ever, the also released artwork consists of a tropical jungle with the two men standing back-to-back in the centre, illuminated by a circle of light.

“There was an image we talked about very early on with this record, before we wrote the title track, Two Vines, and that was this image of a modern city overtaken by jungle, almost like mother nature taking back the planet,” one half of EOTS Nick Littlemore said.


“All the buildings will turn back to sand. All it will be is nature again. We wanted to make something that reflected the beauty of that, and the wisdom that plants can give us about living harmoniously on this beautiful planet,” he continued.

They chose to record the album in two very different locations; Los Angeles and Hawaii. “Going to Hawaii to record was the best idea. That was the catalyst for me. I’d spend the morning surfing, then roll in and make music into the night,” the other half of EOTS Luke Steele revealed.

The fifteen-track album will have a few special guests along for the ride including Fleetwood Mac’s Lindsey Buckingham; Wendy Melvin, who was guitarist and vocalist of Prince’s band The Revolution; as well as pianist Henry Hey and bassist Tim Lefebvre, who took part in the recording of David Bowie’s swansong Blackstar.

Here is the tracklist for Two Vines (the final track will be a remix of their first album’s title track by Manny Marroquin):

01 Before
02 High and Low
03 Two Vines
04 Friends
05 There’s No Need
06 Way to Go
07 Ride
08 Digital Life
09 First Crush
10 ZZZ
11 To Her Door
12 Keystone
13 Lend Me Some Light
14 Welcome to My Life
15 Walking on a Dream

Two Vines will be available on October 28th.

Featured Image: Billboard

Album Image: Pitchfork