Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.49.58 PM

STOP EVERYTHING: ScHoolboy Q Just Dropped a BLACK HIPPY Remix of “THat Part”

We’re just hours away from ScHoolboy Q‘s highly anticipated new album Blank Face. If the excitement wasn’t enough already, Top Dawg Entertainment have just released a remix of recent single THat Part featuring hip-hop supergroup Black Hippy.

The track originally featured a guest verse from Kanye West. The remix now features Kendrick Lamar, Ab-Soul and Jay Rock, along with ScHoolboy Q of course, Black Hippy’s fourth member.

As you might expect, this track is unbelievably good, and an incredibly welcome return for Black Hippy.

UPDATE: After a look through the remix’s lyrics via Genius, it’s important to note how recently Q’s verse was updated. Following the horrific shooting of Alton Sterling earlier this week, his verse criticises those who were in the car with Sterling, addresses the white police who shot him, and laments for his daughter’s upbringing:

“Enemies gotta bob and weave
Gangbangin’ like we stand for somethin’
When Alton Sterling gettin’ killed for nothin’

Two cowards in the car, they’re just there to film
Sayin’ #BlackLivesMatter should’ve died with him
Wrong nigga in your hood, you gon’ ride on him
White nigga with a badge, you gon’ let that slide?
Tell me how they sent that footage off and slept that night
I feel bad that my daughter gotta live this life
I’ll die for my daughter, gotta fight this fight
Put a Blank Face on, nigga let that drop”

Earlier in the verse, he also confirms that Ab-Soul‘s album will be the next TDE release, followed by SZA, who’s is apparently legendary, and that Isaiah Rashad‘s has already been mastered.

While TDE’s head, Anthony “Top Dawg” Tiffith recently hinted at a TDE tour which might include Black Hippy, ScHoolboy Q recently said that the chance of a full album was unlikely, because whenever they get together, they’re having too much fun to bunker down and record. “We’re so busy, the only time we kick it is in the studio, we’d be wasting thousands of dollars… we’d just talk for hours, we don’t even wanna rap no more, when you don’t see your boys in forever, it’s just jokes.”

ScHoolboy Q’s album Blank Face will be out imminently.

Blank Face Tracklist

1. Torch
2. Lord Have Mercy
3. THat Part (feat. Kanye West)
4. Groovy Tony / Eddie Kane (feat. Jadakiss)
5. Kno Ya Wrong (feat. Lance Skiiiwalker)
6. Ride Out (feat. Vince Staples)
7. Whateva U Want (feat. Candice Pillay)
8. By Any Means
9. Dope Dealer (feat. E-40)
10. John Muir
11. Big Body (feat. Tha Dogg Pound)
12. Neva Change (feat. SZA)
13. Str8 Ballin
14. Black Thoughts
15. Blank Face (feat. Anderson .Paak)
16. Overtime (feat. Miguel & Justine Skye)
17. Tookie Knows II (feat. Traffic & TF)

Image: Soundcloud