Skrillex, Rick Ross and Suicide Squad: Confirmed

Words by Manick Bhan

Since its announcement, fans have been eager to see more from the upcoming Suicide Squad movie. Will it be a better DC Comics film than the much-maligned Batman vs. Superman: Dawn Of Justice? Will Jared Leto’s Joker stack up against previous all-time portrayals by Heath Ledger and Jack Nicholson? How much is Will Smith’s presence going to ruin this movie? Well, even if Suicide Squad utterly bombs on the big screen, the freshly-released details of its soundtrack mean the blockbuster will at least sound killer.

One big collaboration confirmed by the tracklist release is EDM heavyweight Skrillex confirmed to be collaborating with the big bo$$ Rick Ross to produce a song for the Suicide Squad soundtrack. This confirms a rumour going as far back as April, fans having been dissecting any shred of information ever since Rick Ross’ appearance in Atlantic City where he was apparently heard to say the words “suicide squad” and “purple Lamborghini.”

Indeed, the Skrillex-Rick Ross collaboration is named Purple Lamborghini and will likely be the supervillain movie’s main theme. While the details are now confirmed, we won’t be able to actually listen to the final soundtrack until the movie’s much-anticipated release on August 5th.

The soundtrack is a mix of new songs, Purple Lamborghini featuring alongside original tracks from the likes of Panic! At The Disco, Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa, Imagine Dragons, Twenty One Pilots, and Action Bronson as well as classic tracks like Creedence Clearwater Revival’s anthemic Fortunate Son and Eminem’s Without Me.

With so many stars attached and such a good story to tell, with what now looks to be a soundtrack for the ages, it’s difficult to imagine Suicide Squad performing poorly. We’ll have to wait and see.

The final Suicide Squad tracklist is as follows:

1. Purple Lamborghini – Skrillex & Rick Ross
2. Sucker For Pain – Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors)
3. Heathens – Twenty One Pilots
4. Standing In The Rain – Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys) (ft. Mark Ronson)
5. GangstaKehlani
6. Know BetterKevin Gates
7. You Don’t Own MeGrace (ft. G-Eazy)
8. Without Me – Eminem
9. Wreak HavocSkylar Grey
10. Medieval WarfareGrimes
11. Bohemian RhapsodyPanic! At The Disco
12. Slippin’ Into DarknessWar
13. Fortunate Son – Creedence Clearwater Revival
14. I Started A JokeConfidentialMX (feat. Becky Hanson)

Image: YouTube