Preview DJ Spinna’s Tribute: “The Wonder of Stevie: Volume 3″

Brooklyn DJ and producer Vincent Williams aka DJ Spinna has pieced together a touching tribute to his longtime hero and personal friend Stevie Wonder. The project is called The Wonder of Stevie: Volume 3 and features never-before-heard covers from the likes of The Jackson 5, Billy Preston and Quincy Jones. 

The album, set for release on the 1st of July is a dedication of enthusiasm and love for an incredible artist for whom DJ Spinna has a huge amount of appreciation. The songs span Stevie Wonder’s extensive career and highlight the way his music has influenced so many other amazing artists.

This is not the first time DJ Spinna has created a project in honour of Stevie Wonder, more like the latest instalment in a long list. It began in 1999 in New York with his Wonder-full project, an annual dance party that still runs in 2016 celebrating the life and music of Stevie Wonder. The parties showcase exclusive songs, unheard originals and remixes from Stevie Wonder’s endless catalogue. Not only do punters get to enjoy the original tunes but also DJ Spinna’s talent for effortlessly spanning genres in his remixes of R&B, soul and blues with modern electronic dance music.

A couple of years ago the man himself even made a surprise appearance (bad video but good vibes).

Although the album won’t be released for another month, OkayPlayer premiered an 18 minute promo mix for you to enjoy now.

Track List for The Wonder of Stevie: Volume 3

1. East St. Louis Gospelettes – Have A Talk With God
2. The Jackson 5 – Buttercup
3. Betty Everett – Just A Little Piece of You
4. The Foreign Exchange – If She Breaks Your Heart
5. Sunlightsquare – Pastime Paradise
6. US Atlantic First Navy Show Band – Birds Of Beauty
7. Billy Preston – It’s My Pleasure
8. John Minnis’ Big Bone Band – Love’s In Need Of Love Today
9. Tony Sherman – As
10. David Porter – I Don’t Know Why I Love You
11. David Rufn – Make My Water Boil (Loving You Has Been So Wonderful)
12. G.C. Cameron – If You Don’t Love Me
13. Reel People feat. Tony Momrelle – Golden Lady
14. Quincy Jones – Betcha Wouldn’t Hurt Me
15. Jrod Indigo – Go Home
16. Black Sugar – Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing
17. F.B.I. – Keep On Runnin’
18. B.J. Thomas – Happier Than The Morning

The Wonder of Stevie: Volume 3 will be available on the 1st of July.


Image: djspinna.com