Image: Dying Trends

Blink-182 Make Their Return With New Album

The ill-mannered San Diego three-piece Blink-182 still remain the anthem to lost 90’s youth everywhere.  Not only encapsulating the kind of lewd humour and sexualities of a whole generation of teenage boys, they also epitomise the golden era of pop punk. And they happen to boast one of the best drummers in Travis Barker. It may have been nearly fifteen years since Enema Of The States was released, but Blink-182 are still a force to be reckoned with as they announce a new album.

Last year saw the second sad departure of Tom DeLonge from the band, however his skate shoes and guitar duties have now been filled by Matt Skiba. The former Alkaline Trio member filled in for DeLonge in 2015, after DeLonge left to dedicate more time “non-musical activities”. Skiba also joined remaining members Mark Hoppus and Barker in the studio to record the band’s seventh album; California.

The first new music from Blink-182 since their 2011 release Neighbourhoods, this latest album will be available July 1 via Vagrant/BMG/Liberator Records. With sixteen tracks on the listing, the band have now released their first single from the record, Bored To Death. Produced by John Feldmann (Five Seconds Of Summer, All Time Low and more), the track may have a slightly despondent feel but doesn’t seem to feel the lack of DeLonge.

And despite the time elapsed between now and the days of All The Small Things and What’s My Age Again, Blink-182 prove themselves more than capable of continuing the legacy that they began. In a return to those old days, Bored To Death signals a touch of nostalgia as Hoppus mourns that “it’s a long way back from seventeen”. However this edge of regret is still accompanied by trademark pop punk riffs and hooks, and strikes the same vein as vintage tracks like Adam’s Song.

Blink-182 have also just announced a massive US tour, with support from A Day To Remember, All American Rejects and All Time Low. California is available to pre-order now through iTunes – pre-orders will also receive an instant download of Bored To Death. Check out the full track listing for California below.

1. Cynical

2. Bored to Death

3. She’s out of Her Mind

4. Los Angeles

5. Sober

6. Built This Pool

7. No Future

8. Home Is Such a Lonely Place

9. Kings of the Weekend

10. Teenage Satellites

11. Left Alone

12. Rabbit Hole

13. San Diego

14. The Only Thing That Matters

15. California

16. Brohemian Rhapsody

Image: Dying Trends