2016 APRA Music Award Winners Have Been Announced

The APRA AMCOS Music Awards took place at Carriageworks in Sydney over night, with faces both familiar and fresh turning up on the night where Australian music is celebrated, nurtured and applauded through performance and awards.

Peking Duk took out two awards, one for Dance Work of The Year and one for Most Played Australian Work, for their track Say My Name, whilst Tame Impala won Song of The Year for Let It Happen. Courtney Barnett was dubbed Songwriter of The Year thanks to her work on her album Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, and Sia took out the gong for Most Played Australian Work Overseas for Chandelier.

However, the night wasn’t just about the awards, as audiences were also treated to some incredible performances. The Delta Riggs took on the aforementioned Song of The Year, Tame Impala’s Let It Happen, whilst San Cisco stepped up to cover Barnett’s Pedestrian At BestGang Of Youths also partnered up with honey-voiced Montaigne for a cover of Jarryd James‘ Do You Remember, which coincidentally was named as Pop Work of The Year. Urthboy, D.I.G, Ngaiire and Ruel before The Living End finished off the night with a tribute to Cold Chisel. Check out the whole list of recipients below:

(Inaugural) Overseas Recognition Award
Phil Barton

Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Busby Marou – Days of Gold 

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Alex Hope

Dance Work of the Year
Peking Duk – Take Me Over (featuring Safia)

Most Played Australian Work
Peking Duk – Take Me Over (featuring Safia)

Rock Work of the Year
Birds of Tokyo – Anchor

Pop Work of the Year
Jarryd James and Joel Little – Do You Remember

Urban Work of the Year
Hilltop Hoods – Cosby Sweater

Country Work of the Year
Lee Kernaghan, Colin Buchananand Garth Porter – Spirit of the ANZACs

Most Played Australian Work Overseas
Sia – Chandelier

International Work of the Year
Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars – Uptown Funk

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music
Cold Chisel (Jimmy Barnes, Ian Moss, Steve Prestwich, Phil Small and Don Walker).

The 2016 APRA Music Awards were hosted by Brian Nankervis and featured guest presenters Styalz Fuego, Fiona Bevan, Catherine Britt, Trey Campbell, Suze DeMarchi, Tim Rogers, Maegan Cottone, Adalita and Don Walker.

Image: DIY mag