Röyksopp Return With A Brand New Track

Everyone’s favourite Norwegian duo Röyksopp have returned with a new track entitled Bounty Hunters.

The song was made with a host of samples taken across a number of Star Wars films and will feature on the compilation album Star Wars Headspace.

The track was premiered on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show last night and is an enticing glimpse at what will be on the record that is scheduled for a streaming release next week.

The compilation album combines the considerable talents of Flying Lotus and Shlohmo amongst many high profile other electronic artists, while Def Jam co-founder and all round legendary musical pioneer Rick Rubin, famous for his work with just about everybody, executive produces it all.

The album was devised as an official soundtrack to the universally adored franchise. The electronic tracks either draw inspiration from the film, or like in the case of Röyksopp, they actively use snippets from the films to create songs.

Two years ago the duo of Svein Berge and Torbjorn Brundtland released their supposedly last record together which was entitled The Inevitable End. However, they were keen to stress that that did not mean they wouldn’t keep making music together. Bounty Hunters has shown that this is fortunately the case.

You can listen to the track here.

The latest film Star Wars: Force Awakens was released in December last year and has since gone on to become the third highest grossing film of all time.

The full track list for the album that will soon accompany the film is below:

  1. C-3P0’s Plight – Kaskade
  2. Help Me! – GTA
  3. Force – TroyBoi
  4. Cantina Boys – Baauer
  5. Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work (feat. A-Trak) – Shag Kava
  6. R2 Knows (feat. Barry Drift) – Claude VonStroke
  7. NR-G7 – Rick Rubin
  8. Ghomrassen – Bonobo
  9. Bounty Hunters – Röyksopp
  10. Sunset Over Manaan – ATTLAS
  11. R2 Where R U? – Flying Lotus
  12. Druid Caravan of Smoke – Shlohmo
  13. EWOK PUMPP – Rustie
  14. Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder – Galantis
  15. Star Tripper – Breakbot

Read our feature about the music of Star Wars here

[Image- Stian Andersen]