Prince Just Dropped A New Album

The Purple One, Prince, has just released HITNRUN Phase Two, following on from his September release HITNRUN Phase One.

A press release boldly describes the album as Prince’s “Magnum Opus”, explaining that it took close to four years to create and put together, including featuring a 16-piece horn section and his “super-group”, The New Power Generation. 

The release has been published exclusively on Jay-Z’s streaming service Tidal. However, mercifully, you can still purchase and download it even if you don’t have a Tidal account – check it out here.

The Tidal exclusive is of course a little irritating, but certainly not unprecedented. Prince has been extremely vocal about his hatred of streaming services, of record labels, of internet piracy, of, well, pretty much anything involving technology. It comes as no surprise that HITNRUN phases one and two were both recorded entirely in analog. Arduous, sure, but the results are worth it.

Just last week, Thom Yorke himself essentially ordered Prince to stop removing footage of his cover of Radiohead‘s Creep from the internet. After all, it’s not even his song. 

Here’s the track-listing:

1. Baltimore
2. RocknRoll Love Affair
3. 2 Y. 2 D.
4. Look at Me, Look at U
5. Stare
6. Xtraloveable
7. Groovy Potential
8. When She Comes
9. Screwdriver
10. Black Muse
11. Revelation
12. Big City