Ern Malley Deliver An Incredible Hoax-Free EP

In the 1940s, two conservative Australian poets tried to mock modernism by submitting the works of fake poet Ern Malley to the Angry Penguins literary magazine. When the truth emerged the magazine’s editor was pilloried – and the fake poet became a star.

This most celebrated literary hoax has been reborn in the form of Melbourne five-piece band of the same name, Ern Malley. Minus the hoax – so far.

Last Thursday, Ern Malley released their debut self-titled EP at the Gasometer in Melbourne with support slots from Suss C*nts and Monnone Alonewho just made his set after a long drive from Adelaide.

The band is led by modern-day poet and singer/song writer Alex Servinis and features Andy Clarke (guitar and vocals), Nick Servinis (drums), Craig Mattingley (keys), and Stuart West (bass and vocals). Describing themselves as a “bunch of classic pop nerds making Servinis’ vision come true – hopefully.”

The five track EP features their first single White Nectarines, which was released in June. Ern Malley’s indie guitar pop sounds resinate through all five tracks and make for an extremely fibre-filled EP. Servinis has true song writing gift and his ability to write catchy choruses will see this some if not all the songs off this EP take some serious radio time.

Check out the full EP below and head to their Bandcamp page to buy it.