Santigold - 99c

Santigold returns with a new single and talk of a new album!

Following a three year break since her last album, US singer Santigold has finally announced that her next record 99¢ will be released January 22 via Atlantic. Swiftly following up the announcement with the single Can’t Get Enough of Myself, Santigold shared a taster of what to expect from this latest incarnation.

Premiering the new track on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 Show, Can’t Get Enough of Myself is a feel good, reggae infused piece of pop candy. Featuring B.C., it is a long step away from the hard-arsed attitude that launched Santigold back in 2008 with her debut Santogold. But still with the same overblown sense of self, the tongue in cheek Can’t Get Enough of Myself has the same knowing feel as tracks like Creator. 

The first song to be heard off the twelve track album, Can’t Get Enough of Myself isn’t the only collaboration. Santigold drafted in the big guns with another collab with iLoveMakonnen, as well as production from Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij, Hit-Boy, TV on the Radio’s Dave Sitek, Patrik Berger, Justin Raisen, Sam Dew, John Hill, and Doc McKinney.

Also unveiling the artwork for the album (shot by photographer Haruhiko Kawaguchi), in her conversation with Zane Lowe, Santigold commented on the image and the title 99¢: “It’s like me and my life in this bag, and there’s a “99¢” sticker on it. Everything is a product at this point, including people and relationships… also everything is undervalued, you know?”

Even though it sounds like a bargain, we reckon Santigold is worth a lot more than 99¢. See the track listing for the album below:

01 Can’t Get Enough of Myself [ft. B.C.]
02 Big Boss Big Time Business
03 Banshee
04 Chasing Shadows
05 Walking in a Circle
06 Who Be Lovin Me [ft. iLoveMakonnen]
07 Rendezvous Girl
08 Before the Fire
09 All I Got
10 Outside the War
11 Run the Races
12 Who I Thought You Were