Listen to Drake and Future’s new mixtape right now

What a WHIRLWIND weekend for hip hop news.

It seems like only days ago that the world caught on to whispers of a supposed collaborative mixtape between Drake and Future, two of the biggest and most relevant names in mainstream hip hop today.

Oh wait, that’s because it was just days ago.

In what is now standard fare for the OVO head, news began spilling out of the ‘surprise’ collab via not-so-cryptic emojis, tweets, Instagram posts and the like.

Drake then took to his Beats 1 Radio show OVO Sound, where he revealed the joint effort. What A Time To Be Alive then went live, exclusively available on Apple Music and iTunes.

Drawing on the best of both worlds, it’s exactly what you might expect from the crooning superstar and the Atlanta trap lord. Of the project’s conception, Drake explained, “I went to Atlanta for six days a couple weeks ago with the hopes of doing some songs with Future, and when you get around Future, it’s like a vortex, that guy can outwork anybody right now,” Drake said. “It’s tough to see someone do four, five songs in one night and not try to match it.”

Drake shared the diamond-encrusted album cover on Instagram the day before (now known to be a Shutterstock image), and an image amalgamating Drake’s OVO logo with the symbol of Future’s Freebandz.

“Sunday will be madness,” he said.

And madness it was.

WHAT A TIME TO BE ALIVE available at 8pm EST, Sunday on ITunes @future 💎 @applemusic

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

OVO FREEBANDZ RADIO SUNDAY @ 6PM EST @applemusic @future @metroboomin @escomoecity

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

The pair have put their heads together a number of times over the years, so fans are stoked that they now have a complete release. Their musical relationship traces back to 2012, when Drake appeared on Future’s Tony Montana, and since then they’ve gone on to record and perform together, as well as going through a pretty nasty beef in 2013. Because, you know, it’s Drake.

We can only assume that a full joint tour will be announced in the coming weeks.

The album will receive a worldwide release next week. For now, check it out on Apple Music or iTunes.

What a Time to Be Alive Track List
1. “Digital Dash”
2. “Big Rings”
3. “Live From the Gutter”
4. “Diamonds Dancing”
5. “Scholarships”
6. “Plastic Bag”
7. “I’m the Plug”
8. “Change Locations”
9. “Jumpman”
10. “Jersey”
11. “30 for 30 Freestyle”