Young Thug drops mixtape, announces album

In the latest development from one of hip hop’s rising stars, Young Thug has dropped a mixtape. Changing the name from Carter 6 to Barter 6 because he was apparently threatened with a lawsuit (*cough cough* Lil Wayne *cough cough*), he not only dropped it a day before it was scheduled for release, but also changed his tune from calling it an album to calling it a mixtape.

Along with this comes the announcement that there is a separate album due for release in August. This new album is called Hy!£UN35 (pronounced Hi-Tunes for those as confused as I was), and was announced via his record label 300 Entertainment along with the following statement:

“300 Entertainment recording artist Young Thug has announced the release of his new mixtape, BARTER 6. The collection, which marks the rapper’s first solo outing in more than two years, is available now at all digital retailers. Hy!£UN35, Young Thug’s long awaited debut album, arrives at last on August 28th. “300 is proud to present Young Thug! We believe he is a unique artist who will have a special place in the future of hip hop” – Lyor Cohen, 300 Entertainment

Back to the Lil Wayne thing for a second though. Lil Wayne is in the midst of ongoing tense relations with himself and his label Cash Money, which is run by Birdman. Wayne has been taking the necessary steps to end his contract with Cash Money, and is allegedly suing for 51 million dollars. Birdman has taken Young Thug under his wing, with the latter always citing Wayne as his favourite rapper. Then footage surfaced of Wayne telling his fans not to listen to Young Thug, whilst Young Thug had the guts to title his release Carter 6 (which was scheduled to drop before the constantly delayed Carter V from Wayne). The whole thing is pretty dramatic and also pretty hilarious as it continues to unfold. There is still no word from Wayne about this new development though.

Barter 6 is out now on Spotify and iTunes.

01. Constantly Hating (Feat. Birdman) Produced by Wheezy
02. With That (Feat. Duke) Produced by London on the Track
03. Can’t Tell (Feat. TI and Boosie Badazz) Produced by London on the Track
04. Check Produced by London on the Track
05. Never Had It (Feat. Young Dolph) Produced by Wheezy
06. Dream (Feat. Yak Gotti) Produced by Wheezy
07. Dome (Feat. Duke) Produced by Wheezy
08. Halftime Produced by Kip Hilson
09. Amazing (Feat. Jacquees) Produced by Wheezy
10. Knocked Off (Feat. Birdman) Produced by Wheezy and Ricky Racks
11. OD Produced by Wheezy
12. Numbers Produced by London on the Track
13. Just Might Be Produced by Wheezy