The Alchemist and Oh No Present: Welcome To Los Santos

Today marks the release of Welcome To Los Santos, a brand new Grand Theft Auto soundtrack compilation, curated by The Alchemist and Oh No.

Whether you play the game or not, it’s become renowned for the incredible music that comes along with all of that violence and fun stuff – but this compilation really takes the cake.

Some of the best perhaps-not-quite-underground-anymore-but-still-under-the-radar rappers are featured, including Freddie Gibbs, Ab-Soul, A$AP Ferg and Killer Mike. Then you’ve got Danny Brown, Earl Sweatshirt and Action Bronson, both of whom have just dropped excellent new albums (read our reviews here and here.) You’ve got the warped angelic lilts of Little Dragon, an absolutely bangin’ new Phantogram track and a dark, sexy track from indie dudes Wavves. And a lot more.

The compilation opens with Gangrene’s Play It Cool, complete with jazzy flutes, huge driving bass and the incredible blend of Gangrene and Earl Sweatshirt’s raps, alongside a particularly special, if unexpected guest – Samuel T Herring of Future Islands. And it just grows from there. Title track Welcome To Los Santos (MC Eiht, Freddie Gibbs ft Kokane) has the sexiest bassline, deep, deep verses and brass licks that just brighten it up like nothing else. E-40’s California features Dam-Funk and none other than Ariel Pink. It’s becoming pretty clear that this album has totally championed genre-bending, and it’s incredible. Closing track Bad News is a double trouble hip hop track, with Danny Brown and Action Bronson delivering some of their best verses yet.

I’ve listened to a lot of new music this year, and a lot of new mixtapes, but I can wholeheartedly say that this is the best one so far. The combination of those aggressive rap tracks with sultry electronica (read my full post on the MNDR x Killer Mike track here) and those seductive, hip-swingin’ beats is just gorgeous.

The music will debut in the upcoming GTA V for PC, courtesy of the in-game radio station ‘The Lab’

Stream the singles here:

And the entire thing here, via NPR

  1. Gangrene – Play It Cool feat. Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt
  2. Ab-Soul – Trouble feat. Aloe Blacc
  3. Tunde Adebimpe – Speedline Miracle Masterpiece feat. Sal P & Sinkane
  4. MC Eiht & Freddie Gibbs – Welcome to Los Santos feat. Kokane
  5. Phantogram – K.Y.S.A
  6. Vybz Kartel – Fast Life
  7. King Avriel – 20’s 50’s 100’s feat. A$AP Ferg
  8. MNDR – Lock & Load feat. Killer Mike
  9. Popcaan – Born Bad feat. Freddie Gibbs
  10. E-40 – California feat. Dam-Funk & Ariel Pink
  11. Wavves – Leave
  12. Curren$y & Freddie Gibbs – Fetti
  13. Little Dragon – Wanderer
  14. Action Bronson & Danny Brown – Bad News